Obaatanpa Radio Online

Bird Flu: 6,000 Birds Killed In Gomoa East District


The Central Regional Vertinary Officers have killed over 6,000 birds that have been infected with bird flu disease in some poultry farms within the Gomoa East District in the central region.

According to the Senior Veterinary Officer at Cape Coast, Dr Kwadwo Boakye, the birds which were killed have been buried to prevent public consumption and also prevent the flu from spreading to other farms.

On that note, the Gomoa East District Assembly in collaboration with Agric Directorate has schooled over 2,000 farmers in the Gomoa East district on the bird flu

Dr Kwadwo Boakye who represented the Central Regional Head of Veterinary Service has elaborated on some measures his outfit has putting in place to curb the current bird flu in the country.

He outlined that measures put by the Directorate are: regular disinfection exercise of the farms, avoid moving from one farm to another and others.

The Senior Veterinary Officer hinted that only one poultry farm has been affected by the bird flu and the farm is located at  Dominase in the Gomoa East District in the Central Region

Dr Kwadwo Boakye has however cautioned poultry farmers to educate themselves and workers about the deadly disease bird flu to prevent the fast spreading of the disease

On his side, DCE for Gomoa East, Hon Solomon Darko Quarm has bemoaned that the situation is very disturbing because according to him over 5,000 birds have been killed by the bird flu

He promised that the Assembly will assist the Veterinary Service to fight the deadly disease.

Some of the farmers who attended the seminar said they have learned a lot and they’re going to put proper measures in place to prevent the infection of the flu.

According to the Ministry of Health, over 10,000 have died from bird flu in Ghana.

The Ministry of Health said the disease has affected chicken products in the country.

The Ministry said the flu is spreading from the neighbouring countries Togo, Nigeria, Niger, Burkina Faso, Mauritania and Senegal.

Related posts