Obaatanpa Radio Online

President eulogises Speaker of Parliament in latest SONA

nana addo and bagbin

The President of Ghana, Nana Akufo-Addo has paid a glowing tribute to the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Honourable Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin on the floor of Parliament on yesterday.

In the first State of the Nation Address of his second term, the president congratulated the Rt. Honourable Bagbin on his election as Speaker of the House in the 8th parliament of the 4th Republic.

 “His has been a distinguished career, having entered the 1st Parliament of the 4th Republic in 1993, and I came to meet him in the 2nd Parliament in 1997. He has been Majority Leader, Minister of State, one of the “three wisemen” in a previous Government, 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament, and now finds himself in this elevated position of being the third most important person in the governance structure of our country. It is wholly appropriate that, at such a critical period in the history of our country, my senior in Parliament and I should work together for the wellbeing of the Ghanaian people”, the president praised.

The First gentleman of the land used the occasion to wish his senior in parliament well in the discharge of his duties.

Speaker Alban Bagbin
Speaker Alban Bagbin


About Speaker Alban Bagbin

Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin is the 8th and current Speaker of Parliament of the 4th republic.

Having entered the law-making body of the country in 1993, Mr Bagbin rose through the ranks and file to occupy the 3rd most important office of the country.

The 63-year-old Bagbin hails from Sombo in the Upper West region of Ghana, and holds Executive Masters from Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration. He also holds BA (Law and English) from the Ghana School of Law.

Until his election to the high office of Speaker of Parliament, Mr Bagbin last worked as the 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament from January 7, 2017 to 6th January 2021. He beat former Speaker in the 7th parliament and the New Patriotic Party’s nominee, Professor Mike Aaron Ocquaye in a marathon of drama and confusion on the dawn of January 7, 2021 to become the speaker. He was sworn into office on the same day.

Related posts