Obaatanpa Radio Online

Probe Atta-Mills’s Death – MPs

Four Majority lawmakers have filed a private members’ motion requesting Parliament to constitute a bi-partisan committee to investigate the “unending mystery” surrounding the death of late president John Evans Atta-Mills.

Atta-Mills died in office on 24 July 2012.

The MPs are Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Majority Chief Whip and MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri, Habib Iddrisu, 2nd Deputy Majority Chief Whip and MP for Tolon, Davis Ansah Opoku, MP for Mpraeso and Yves Nii Noi Hanson-Nortey, MP for Tema Central.

Atta-Mills, who died aged 68, served as vice-president to Jerry John  Rawlings between 1997-2001 before becoming President.

Though the cause of his death was not released, Atta-Mills had reportedly been battling throat cancer, and in the days leading up to his death, had been in the US for some medical attention.

The Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin is yet to give a directive on the motion.

Meanwhile, a former Deputy General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Koku Anyidoho is also calling for an investigation into the death of Atta-Mills.

“I love President Atta-Mills, but I have a RIGHT to protect the Anyidoho Family name. The INQUEST, is to save my PRECIOUS FAMILY NAME! The INQUEST has got nothing to do with any other FAMILY name,” Anyidoho tweeted on Thursday 17 February.

Source: asaaseradio.com

Related posts